1954 – Perguruan Tinggi Pendidikan Guru (PTPG) was established.
1957 – PTPG changed to the Fakultas Keguruan dan Ilmu Pendidikan (FKIP) along with the establishment of Universitas Padjadjaran (UNPAD).
1961 – Department of Fine Art Education FKIP UNPAD was established.
1963 – FKIP and Institut Pendidikan Guru were merged with Institut Keguruan dan Ilmu Pendidikan (IKIP).

1964 – Fakultas Keguruan Sastra dan Seni (FKSS) was officially recognized through the Instruction of the Minister of Higher Education and Science No.128 Year 1964 by overseeing several departments including: Department of Music Art Education and Fine Art Education.

1982 – FKSS changed to Fakultas Pendidikan Bahasa dan Seni (FPBS)
The Department of Fine Arts and Wood and Ceramic Carving Craft Education consists of:
(1) S1 (Undergraduate), D3 (Diploma 3), and D2 (Diploma 2) program in Fine Art Education;
(2) D3 and D2 Wood and Ceramic Carving Craft Education;
Other major, Drama, Dance, and Music Art (Sendratasik) Education consist of:
(1) D3, D2, and D1 program in Music Art Education;
(2) D3, D2, and D1 program in Dance Education.

1991 – Department of Fine Art and Crafts Education and Department of Sendratasik Education was restructured to only S1 Program.

1999 – IKIP Bandung changed to Universitas Pendidikan Indonesia (UPI) based on Presidential Decree No. 124 Year 1999.

2008 – Under Badan Hukum Milik Negara (BHMN), the Sendratasik Education changed to an independent department, namely the Department of Dance Education (based on the Rector’s Decree No. 1325/H40/KL/2009, dated March 5th, 2009) and the Department of Art Music Education (based on the Rector’s Decree No. 1324/H40/KL/2009, dated March 5th, 2009).

2014 – Exactly on September 9th, 2014, the Faculty of Language and Arts Education gave birth to a new faculty, namely the Faculty of Arts and Design Education (FPSD) (Based on UPI Rector Regulation No. 7676/UN40/HK/2014, dated 22 December, 2014)

2018 – Visual Communication Design Study Program (DKV) was established.

2019 – Film and Television Study Program (FTV) was established.

2021 – Music Study Program was established.